Grocery and Ulta haul + Trader Joes, errands etc…

It is that time of the week, running errands, shopping, repurchasing and replenishing all the necessities and accessories! We usually shop once a week, mainly on Saturdays. And that’s also the one day we do our errands or plan something fun. This week I thought I’d give you a snip bit of my weekly shopping/store run, I did include pictures but they’re only from my phone so bare with me on the quality.

Rowyn was actually due for a haircut so after a light breakfast we headed out to Salon Bambino. Just like its name, the salon is made specifically for children. The staff are also fabulous and do a great job with kids and of course the hair cut. After our first cut with Crystal we’ve been going back ever since, she does such an amazing job with Rowyn.

image

But of course Ulta was on the way so we had to stop in to replenish some of my goods and try out some new products!

image

Now although I use my Clarisonic Mia, I still like to use an exfoliant every now and then and I don’t have perfect skin, sometimes I’ll break out around my neck and chest area and it’s just nice to exfoliate those areas too. Also I don’t like to stick to one exfoliant, I like to play around with my options 🙂 and this month it’s this new tropical, citrus scent from Clean and Clear

image

I wasn’t out of makeup wipes but we recently went to visit my family and unfortunately I left my stash there, I didn’t have any in the travel size packet and took my staple one :-(. I’ve tried multiple brands, Simply (? Simply Clean?), Loreal, Ponds, even Mac and I always end up coming back to this Neutrogena one. They also have a “night time calming” one but it didn’t sit well with my skin, I think it was probably the scent that was on it. Luckily today they had a special, as they sometimes do and this one came with a travel size package, for less than $5, can’t beat that.

image

Next up is mascara. I hardly wear any, only because I don’t think it makes much of a difference. My lashes are so frail from many years of wearing and tearing off falsies. However, every now and then I do do a full face doll up and like to give my eyes a little pop without messing around with the hassle of falsies. I don’t have a favorite but I usually stick to Maybelline for mascara, plus the packaging was catchy 🙂

image

This was definitely over priced, it was almost $5. I usually get the round cotton pads from target, either 200 or 400 count. Only reason I picked this up was because it was in the wrong area and was priced at $2.99. Argh!

image

Yes…ever tried to doll up and not have enough clips and what not to hold up your parted hair? Well I do! Reminds me that I also need to reorganize my linen closet and vanity area.

image

This is actually a new product for me. More than half of the youtube gurus I follow swear by this brand of dry shampoo so why not give it a try. My hair gets super oily if I skip a night of washing, will definitely let you know what I think.

image

image

image

Picked up a few Nyx lip goodies also. I’m definitely a nude girl so I couldn’t help myself, and then being that Fall is just right around the corner I’m trying to ease into that theme as well. I did try on the lip cream lip glosses right away when I got home and was so disappointed with them, especially the darker one, San Paulo. I saw a swatch of that color on youtube and it was such a beautiful red. However when I put on the gloss the color was not very pleasing on me :-(. Both colors were pretty opaque, I guess that’s what you get for $5.

image

I also picked up some Bare Mineral loose powder foundation. My stash is coming to its final ounce, I use it up so much quicker this time of year being that I don’t use my liquid foundation. This is the Original formula in the color Light. I’m currently still using the “Matte” formula because when I bought my last container my skin was still very oily, hopefully I’ll do just fine with the original as Winter is approaching.

image

I jump around a lot with my moisturizers, my skin has been very disobedient lately, since last fall actually. It went from oily, super oily, to super dry now and the moisturizers I’ve been using haven’t been doing a great job at hydrating my skin. Frankly, if I could justify spending a ton of money on a well hydrating moisturizer, I would easily do so, because I used to use the Murad hydro-dynamic moisturizer and it worked MIRACLES but it’s almost $100. So I’m giving this Neutrogena one a try since we all know the best drink for our face/skin is a great SERUM…

image

which brings me to my next item, all new to me. I’m sort of new to serums you can say, I’ve known about its benefits and all of that but do keep in mind how easily expensive it can get. I’ve used the LancĂ´me Genefique(?) serums before and I LOVED it. I think it truly made a difference in my skin but it was so expensive and it wasn’t realistic for me to keep up with. Now that I’m back in the market for another serum I figured Clinique would be the best place to start as their products are well known to do miraculous things and the price point is also a plus, this serum was about $50. The little container on top is a sample of the Repair Wear Laser Focus eye cream that the clerk gave me because I was looking to purchase it but it was out of stock, I’m excited to see if it’ll do any wonders. The pink container on the bottom was actually part of the purchase gift, the lady thought I really should have bought this one instead.

image

and finally another OPI nail polish to add to my MINUTE collection. Every girl needs a good white polish 🙂

Following our trip to Ulta and to the Salon, we stopped by Trader Joes. I’ve known about this store for the longest time but have never made an effort to check out what the hype was all about. I definitely noticed their flower selection right away, GORGEOUS, and adequately priced as well. Taking a quick sweep around, it kind of reminded me of Aldi’s…is it just me, without the buy-in-bulk ordeal. Overall, I guess I wasn’t too impressed given all the hype I’ve heard about the store, they definitely carry some interesting items but items I wouldn’t or don’t normally incorporate into my diet/lifestyle etc. We walked out of the store with nothing but a cute little watermelon.

image

Finally, on to our grocery haul. We typically shop at Walmart for most of our needs, groceries, home essentials, etc, it may not be as versified and nicely packaged as Target items, but the price definitely has my win unfortunately. As a unit/family/couple 🙂 we’ve figured out that weekly grocery runs work better for us, its more realistic. I basically plan out our weekly meals and shop accordingly, it definitely helps with the budget. So as you can see above (cute little watermelon from Trader Joes) the Lean cuisines are for work, and our drink choices for the week is all natural juices 🙂

image

And here are some of our essentials, we eat a lot of eggs in this family and make a whole lot of French toast! Rowyn and I need to develop better eating habits so I’ve been trying to incorporate more snacks and fruits into our diet–I’m hoping that PROTEIN will help :-). I’m not really a big fan of Fiber One, but this particular one is DELISH, coconut pecan, and how can you go wrong with brownies, blondies really. The box on top is a new brand I haven’t seen before, but it is a protein snack and the flavor/name completely soled me :-). I also LOVE making my own yogurt parfaits, it’s so good, and so much cheaper than buying it. I usually get some berries to go with but my selection was pretty limited today so maybe next time. And those grapes……were phenomenal. Seriously, go get them while supplies last, I’m going back for 2 more bags tomorrow!

image

image

Finally, to meal planning. When we run out of ideas, pho is usually IT especially on the weekend. I don’t know of anyone who makes 1 time pho. Our pho usually lasts for 2-3 days, I know, the carbs are bad but it’s a money issue, and it’s so GOOD anyway. This is usually all the things I make my pho with minus a couple of ingredients I already had. That cilantro was from Golden Harvest, completely over priced, almost $2 for that small bunch, there are 2 bunches in the picture. The peppers in back are not part of my pho items, it’s for another dish I’m making later in the week as well as the ground pork. I don’t know about you guys but meal planning has got to be one of the most difficult tasks. Ideas run out quick especially when you have a husband who can get pretty picky!

And there it is, my grocery/shopping haul. These are one of my favorite things to watch on YouTube. I love watching what people buy, what they eat, what brands work for them etc etc. Until next time, stay tuned! 🙂

Leave a Reply

