Beginner’s Beauty/Makeup Tips

**Disclaimer** First and foremost I will openly admit that I am not a pro by any means (at all), nor do I claim to know the best beauty/makeup tips, nor am I saying that what works for me will work for you. I am frankly just here to share what I have found that works exceptionally well for me, or just something convenient that I’d like to share with my fellow ladies or anyone who is new to the beauty/makeup world (or guys too…maybe?).

 

101

1). Brushes – I think one of the best investments you could ever invest in if you had to choose one would be make-up brushes. I cannot stress enough how much this will change your life/routine, it will 100% make a difference in your makeup; the way it applies, the way it looks, the way it feels. Now, brushes do come in such a wide range of prices, style, type, etc and that can be a whole blog on it’s own but for times sake just know that your options are very vast and you can find them just about anywhere. *personal tip*** Mac’s 217 …. my life is pretty much complete with that brush LOL

loreal duo eyeshadow hip shady dashing eotd review 1

2). Eye shadows – I know that when you’re first starting out, it’s just so difficult to create those pretty looks you see on social media/tv/etc right, that smokey eye effect? Every makeup guru talks about “blending–blend, blend, blend”. What the heck does that even mean when you’re a newbie right?! Practice does make perfect, but until you get there, my best advice is to think of creating a gradient. Nevermind all those beautiful colors that mash into a beautiful mess, focus on just two colors, like shown above. Always–1 dark and one light, and until you can properly nail the technique I’d also suggest sticking to 2 colors in the same color family/palette. And lastly, as a BEGINNER, bottom dark, upper light. Darkest color goes closest to your lash line and lightest color on the upper half of your eyelid.

2202218

3). Eye shadows continued – Maybe you like colors…maybe you don’t? Maybe you like sparkles…maybe you don’t? Eye shadows not only come in an array of color, they come in an array of finishes/formulas as well. I personally don’t think it’s easy to pull off SHIMMER eye shadow, yes, the glittery ones. I think those colors can very easy turn into a catastrophe especially with a beginner’s hand. As shown above, the colors Unbelievable, Unreal, Unattainable, Undiscovered, and Uncensored are all shimmers, the rest are mattes. Mattes are more user friendly and they’re more forgiving, plus they blend a lot easier as well. So choose your colors and finishes wisely, it’s difficult not to look like a stripper when playing with shimmer LOL *true story*

eye-makeup-tutorial-tightlining-for-thicker-lashes-and-bigger-eyes_3-2tightline

4). Tightlining – if there’s one thing that bothers me most, it’s when people don’t tightline their eyes. So from one woman to another, please don’t forget to tightline your eyes if you’re going to wear liner. It makes such a big difference. Just like you line your lower lash line/water line, you need to do the same thing to your upper lash line

 

brow-wiz_500x500

5). Brows – a) As a beginner, I definitely recommend using a brow pencil, something light and waxy like the Anastasia Brow Wiz. The formula is very easy and forgiving to work with, so even if you have a heavier hand, you won’t make too much of a mess. Powders and gels are the other option but I personally think they’re harder to work with. b) One rule of thumb to go by (with a grain of salt) is to choose a color one shade lighter than your hair color IF you have dark color hair, vice versus if you have light hair color

 

s1195346-main-Lheros747410-main-hero-300s988634-main-hero-30000111

6). Foundation – When I first started wearing makeup, I never paid attention to the TYPE of foundation I bought, so as you can imagine, sometimes I looked like a hot melting mess and other times I looked like a cakey-casper-the-ghost. Even if you don’t know much, it’s very important for you to know and understand your skin type, **dry vs oily** (I’m not going to expand into shades and tones). There are foundations out there to specifically meet the needs of your specific skin type so that your makeup will apply a lot better and look a lot smoother. Above is an example of both a powder and liquid foundation, so wether you use powder or liquid, there’s a specific formula for you. If you having oilier skin, you’d buy foundation that comes in a “matte” formula (matte, mattifying, oil free, etc). On the other hand, if you have dryer skin, stick to any foundation that states “sheer, satin, glow” and of course anything that doesn’t have “matte” in it. So keep this in mind the next time you’re in the market for a new foundation. And also, pay close attention to the seasons as well, as our skin may change accordingly 🙂

foundation-primers

7). Primers – I tried to avoid this for the longest time, but bottom line is ladies, you just need a PRIMER. I can’t stress enough the importance of applying a primer to your skin before foundation/powder. Primers have also come a long way and now can be customized to specific skin types, and even target areas as well (pore minimizing, even complexion etc). A primer basically creates a clean and smooth canvas for you, it’s also there to act as a barrier between your skin and the makeup, which also helps to adhere to the makeup making it stay on your skin longer, which also means lasting longer.

 

UD-Primer-Potion

8). Eye shadow primer – You need this in your life. Just like a face primer, eyeshadow primers also do the same thing, it holds onto the makeup allowing it to stay mobile and to make it last longer as well. I can’t tell you how many times I came home from school (high school) with raccoon eyes, my liner has made a reflective ring up on my lids and down below my eyes as well — so, please invest in a primer. I’ve been a fan of Urban Decay’s Primer Potion for many years. It works very well for me, my makeup does not budge or move throughout the day, and I have very sensitive skin and it doesn’t bother me at all

 

ZUfyU81myBaDj2rL._SX522_

9). Lips – Can’t find the right lip color for you? Try mixing colors next time! Not only is it fun, but it’s cost effective. Create a whole new color with colors you already have. I’m a NEUTRAL kind of girl, so any nude color I can get, I’ll take. This is my all time go-to combo, Revlon’s Pink Pout under Mac’s Creme d nude

 

2218871

10). Mascara – TIP remember to throw out and replenish your mascara every three months. It harbors a lot of bacteria so it’s just best practice to change it out every so often, and I’m sure you have already realized that after so long everything inside gets dry and crusty anyway. I have very thin and frail lashes so I don’t use mascara much, so I don’t even both buying high end ones since it goes in the trash every 3 mos

mac_sku_M86F01_640x600_0

11). Brush Cleanser – I know right…if buying and storing brushes isn’t enough you still gotta clean them! If you use the MAC cleanser, it isn’t too expensive by any means, but once you start going through them and you will, it’ll add up. One tip that I’ve been doing for years is pour this solution into a little spray bottle. That way you won’t use it up as fast or waste it excessively. Definitely a plus for me, it’s super great for SPOT cleaning my brushes (another tip)

12). Alcohol spray – I’m sure there is a rule out there somewhere about how long one should keep their makeup..specially eye shadow. But I’m super frugal, and I don’t wear heavy eye makeup every day so I have a very hard time throwing my shadows and palettes away. However, I’m also a germ-phob 😦  . But that’s where the alcohol comes in. I just pour a small amount into a little spray bottle, take my eye shadow/palettes and spray them down one at a time. Yes, spray right onto the product. Alcohol evaporates so quick that you won’t do much damage if any at all to your shadows. Simple as that, and in my books, that’s enough to keep my mind at peace about cleanliness 🙂

There you have it, 12 beauty/makeup tips and tricks. If you already know them, sorry, nothing new I guess LOL. But if you didn’t, I hope you’ll give it a try and see if it helps.

– Cyndie –

 

Leave a Reply

