Skincare habits you should be doing now!

toner-906142_960_720

As a skincare fanatic whose done so much reading and researching, the best advice I can give to my fellow lady friends is prevention, prevention, prevention. The earlier the better, even if you think you have perfect skin, or non-problematic skin. I get it – it’s a huge investment and commitment, but just like everything else in life, not EVERYTHING has to come from money, or, lots of money $$$$ 😉 . And today, I’ll share a couple of tips to help you kick start your dermatology habits!

1). Water – hydration3. I know, if I had a dollar for every time a skin expert have ever said that to me. But it’s so true – the simple things in life. Try it, especially if you know you don’t drink enough water daily. I am an avid believer in taking care of your skin from the inside out, although I don’t always practice that and have quite a long ways to go. I drink water in spurts. Some months I drink a ton of water and other months no so much. When I do, I definitely notice a beautiful glow to my skin, especially right when I wake up in the morning

2). If you sleep on your tummy – STOP right now! There’s really no other way but to squish your face into the pillow in this position. And I’m going to guess that 95% of us do not sleep on silk/satin pillow cases either. The reason is quite obvious, the more pressure and strain you put on your face/skin, the more its going to permanently stay. Not only are premature wrinkles a problem in this position, you’re also introducing more bacteria on to your face, imagine how much bacteria and everything else that’s harboring in that pillow..no no no. So, if you’re like me and can’t sleep on your back, transition to your side. Although a part of your face may still touch the pillow, it’s a lot better than your entire face all night long

3). Enjoy your nice and hot showers at night? Especially this time of year for my midwesterners, well STOP! Although it may feel good and you may have heard at some point that warm/steaming water helps open up pores, hot, steaming water is a NO NO for your skin. It absolutely dries it out, and if you already have inflamed, sensitive skin like mine, well, it’s just going to create more irritation and redness. When washing/cleansing your face, I recommend starting with luke warm water and finishing off with cold/cool water

4). This one is definitely a given but STOP touching your face! I used to do this all the time growing up, whether it was me checking for oil, acne, irritation, boredom, you name it! It’s definitely a habit to stop, we always forget how dirty our hands and fingers are and that’s something I don’t have to go into detail right?

5). Last but not least, I recommend you stop drying your face with a towel. Especially the same one you bath with!!!! There’s so much bacteria harboring there, especially if you don’t get around to washing it frequently! For the last couple of years, I’ve been drying my face with clean, soft paper towel, and as of late, I’ve just been patting my face dry with clean hands. If you don’t like the thought of using paper towel or using your hands, I would suggest using a new clean towel each time

So there you have it, my top 5 expense free tips for healthier skin! I hope that helps, and if you’ve already taken these measures, kudos to you!

Thanks for reading, until next time loves!

– Cyndie –