Weight Loss Wednesday – Road to Healing

As you can tell from the header, this is a true short story in my fitness journey. For the last year, I’ve been battling very bad plantar faciiatis (95% on my right foot). If you don’t know, it’s pretty much heel/inner sole pain, usually due to many small but common factors. Along with my provider and myself, we’ve determined that my issue is mainly due to flat feet and progressive weight gain, unfortunately my ankles/feet can’t handle the pressure of my body weight :-(.

Anyway, a year ago when I saw my provider, she ultimately put a halt on my “exercise” regimine at that time stating I would worsen my condition if I didn’t wait for my feet to completely heal. So – I did, and I gained even more weight.

When I decided to start up my weight loss journey about 3 months ago, I knew this was going to be an enormous detour in my plan so I put on my big girl pants and proactively looked for a solution to combat my injury. And here’s what I did:

1). Brace – ing IT

40628_image

I purchased this foot brace a year ago from Amazon for probably less than $20 – but hated wearing it. I pulled it back out and wore that sucker every night, even if it meant waking up in the middle of the night and ripping it off. The key was consistency, slowly but surely, I started noticing less pain when I got up in the morning.

2). Ending TIES

2015 07 05 - MK Flat Review

I permanently put my flats away. It was one of the hardest things because I LOVED LOVED LOVED my MK’s, and TB’s. My feet were like death by the end of a flat shoe day, it was so excruciating. This also meant changing up my entire shoe collection for work which really made me unhappy, but something’s gotta give, and not that heels made the issue any better, but it definitely lessened the pain by a couple of notches. It’s probably a good thing I have a sedentary job.

3). Iced and ROLLED

frozen-water-bottlenew

I started icing my feet nightly with a bottle of frozen water before bed. I’d do this for about 15minutes or so depending on time. It did initially take away or numb the pain but really wasn’t getting deep into the muscle. Then one day while I was shopping around at TJ max, I found a “muscle” roller? I couldn’t help wondering if it would nip at the pain a little better, so I bought it on a whim, and what do you know. I LOVE IT. I was actually pretty painful at first, but I found my way around it and took my time getting to the pain from every angle and every roll. Due to the spikes, it really got in deep to the tissue, and almost like a knot, it was able to relax that muscle in a way. This was probably the best investment in my injury intervention.

4). Less weight BEARING

w_500_e35-sole-elliptical_642

Did I mention it before? Since starting on this journey, I have not done rigorous running or even walking really. I’ve probably done 2 days of the treadmill this entire time. About 99% of my training has been on the elliptical. It’s helped tremendously because of the amount of pressure it doesn’t put on my feet, most of it goes to my knees and glutes. And let me tell you, 45minutes on that machine will give you sweats and spaghetti legs. It has been the 2nd best factor in healing my plantar faciatis.

Today, I wake up with little to no pain in my feet. I no longer wear my brace at night, only on nights where I’ve done very strenuous activities. I’m so happy – you have no idea. I slowly started adding running back into my routine this week and have noticed increasing my feet rolling time so we’ll have to see if I need to hold off for a while yet. If you suffer from the same symptoms I really hope this blog helped you out, and if you don’t, well now you at least learned something new right?! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

– Cyndie –