Tip Thursday: Waste Not, 5 Tips

20200611_215047

Photo courtesy of Pink Peonies

1). When life gives you too many lemons – do you usually throw out your old lemons/limes? Well don’t! They make really good cleaning agents. Even if your lemon is starting to brown or is getting soft, you can still use it for these purposes. Sinks and faucets! Citrus is a great solution for stubborn hard water stains. I just slice the lemon in half and use it like I would a sponge and run it all around my sink faucets and basins. It takes away 99% of water stains and even leaves behind a nice shine.

2). Recycle and Reuse – if you’re anything like me, you probably have a bunch of candles stashed in your closet somewhere, full ones, half used ones, empty ones, all kinds. Next time, don’t throw them away. When I can afford to, I splurge on candles so 99% of the time it comes in a beautiful jar. Clean out the last remains of wax and use the jar as storage or a bouquet reservoir! It’s a great way to save money and it also serves as beautiful décor!

3). Dryer sheets – these nifty little sheets can come in handy even after their primary use. As I do my loads, I collect these sheets and just leave them in my laundry closet. I use it to wipe down the top of the dryer when I clean out the lint which leaves dust all over the place. They’re also perfect to clean window blinds as well!

4). Gift station – I learned this tip many years ago from my little SIL. Keep all your gift bags, boxes, tissue papers, everything. Of course, I wouldn’t recommend keeping anything in poor condition or anything with a name on it. Crumbly tissue paper? No worries, just flatten it out, fold it nicely and stack something heavy on top of it – looks like new! Plus when you reuse it you’re going to crumble it up again so….. I hardly ever need to shop for gift supplies since I’ve racked up quite the stash, serious, ask my Brother, he stops by all the time to have me wrap his gifts since he knows I have all the supplies handy! This tip works a lot better if you have a decent place to store these items, but if not, a small storage bin tucked away somewhere is doable too.

5). Don’t throw it out – For one reason or another my husband and I go through A LOT of bedding. It pills pretty bad, if you have a trick – do let me know. Don’t throw it out when it goes bad. I don’t know if people donate bedding or not but next time if you have room to store it, DO SO! 99% of our bedding is white so our old linen sheets come in handy, especially the top sheet! I’ve used it to lay out a small picnic, take it to the beach, use it as a prop in photos, cover furniture when I’m cleaning, the options are endless! Sometimes we use old sheets to sleep on at camp as well! (of course, make sure the linen is clean before reusing)

Alright – as always thanks for reading, and see you on the next one